The Inverse Problems International Association (IPIA) will award the third Calderón Prize to a researcher under the age of 40 who has made distinguished contributions to the field of inverse problems broadly defined.

The Calderón Prize Committee consists of Professors Martin Burger, Hyeonbae Kang, Yaroslav Kurylev, George Papanicolaou, and William Symes (chair). Previous winners of the award are Matti Lassas (2007) and Martin Burger (2009).

IPIA will present the award at the Applied Inverse Problems Conference to be held in College Station, Texas, May 22-27, 2011. The award will include a certificate, a $500 prize, and an invitation to give a plenary lecture at the conference. The prize also includes reimbursement for reasonable travel expenses to College Station.

Besides a nomination letter please include a complete CV of the nominee and a list of publications. Also additional supporting letters can be included. The Calderón Prize Committee can also solicit nominations.

Nominations should be send to Professor William Symes by February 28, 2011, to the e-mail address: Inquiries should be also be addressed to Professor Symes.

The winner is Guillaume Bal from Columbia University.


Copyright © 2010, Texas A&M University, Department of Mathematics, All Rights Reserved.